top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenolanbul2

Predicting What Will Be An Unpredictable 2020 NFL Season

Thank goodness: As I publish this article, we are one day away from kickoff, and the Coronavirus pandemic has not affected the NFL from starting their 2020 season. Of course, it will come at its costs and become a season like we have never witnessed before. You do not need me to remind you about what will be different for the league this season. Instead, I would be honored to give you my complete predictions for the upcoming season.


As I mentioned in my latest article, I enjoy creating predictions for what I believe will happen each NFL season. It is always fun to take a swing at what you think will happen with teams and individual players. As you will see here, they are a healthy mix of what I believe will happen, going with my gut, and going bold at times along the way. Similar to almost every other sport, the NFL is a difficult league to predict. However, I do not appreciate it when writers and other fans always choose the favorites for each award or honor given. While playing the risk of going out of the ordinary at times, I embrace the great potential of me being wrong with most of the predictions I make. Out of all sports, I (unsurprisingly) have had the worst luck with the NFL.


While I believe in my predictions and always go with my gut, I will throw in a so-called "confidence meter” after each award given. Some award winners might be no brainers, others might be risky, but I will provide exactly how confident I am in my prediction coming true. With that said, I will not have you wait any longer, so let us jump right in!


Offensive Rookie Of The Year: Kansas City Chiefs Running Back, Clyde Edwards-Helaire


For the longest time, I planned on going bold and had New York Jets Wide Receiver Denzel Mims at this spot. The Baylor product has a godly catch radius, great hands, strong frame, and excellent field awareness. More importantly, I am quite confident he will push by fellow Wideouts Jamison Crowder and Breshad Perriman to become a top target for his QB, Sam Darnold. Well, the reason I changed my mind is that Mims hardly practiced due to a nagging hamstring injury throughout camp. Also, recent developments of my new pick have captured the eyes of NFL fans everywhere.


Chiefs Running Back Clyde Edwards-Helaire quite possibly could not have been drafted into a better position than what he is entering with the defending Super Bowl champions. There was already a base of hype with Helaire after he was taken with the 32nd overall pick of the NFL Draft. The only problem was the Chiefs had (the man who REALLY should have won Super Bowl MVP) fellow Running Back Damien Williams on the roster. But with Williams opting out of the 2020 season, the hype train for the rookie running back was at full speed, and it has not looked back since. The Chiefs offense was already almost impossible to stop, or slow down for that matter, but if the explosive back that Helaire is can transition well into the league, that would be an increased nightmare for opposing defenses. I hate to go basic here, but can you blame me?


(Confidence in prediction: 5/5)


Defensive Rookie Of The Year: Baltimore Ravens Inside Linebacker, Patrick Queen


Ravens Inside Linebacker, Patrick Queen, Practicing In Training Camp (Credit: PennLive.com)


The (in my opinion) should-have-been Green Bay Packer arguably could not have been drafted to a better spot, as well. The Baltimore Ravens had themselves another strong defensive campaign in 2019 but lacked a stout Inside Linebacker since the departure of C.J. Mosely. Now playing with a front seven that includes Outside Linebacker Matt Judon and newly-added Defensive Ends Calais Campbell and Derek Wolfe, Queen should be able to play an immediate role and fill in a much-needed void for the AFC powerhouse.


LSU fans would be delighted to see my ROY picks.


(Confidence in pick…5/5)


Head Coach Of The Year: Indianapolis Colts' Frank Reich


The Colts are a team that deserves better after the sudden retirement of Andrew Luck before last season. Despite facing the tremendous loss of their stud QB, they are still a team with plenty of key pieces on both sides of the ball, specifically on offense. Speaking of that side of the ball, the Colts added QB Phillip Rivers, an upgrade over Jacoby Brissett, and should have 10 hours to throw behind their stout front line, which is something that Rivers never had in his career with the Chargers. I expect the Colts to bounce back, and Head Coach Frank Reich should reap the benefits of doing such a thing for his squad.


(Confidence in pick…4/5)


Comeback Player Of The Year: Detroit Lions QB, Matthew Stafford


Whether you agree or not, Stafford is an excellent QB in this league. I will not call him elite, but I believe his talent is underrated around the league. Stafford was quietly putting up MVP numbers before he would miss the rest of the season after Week 9. With a returning offense cast consisting of Wide Receivers Kenny Golladay, Marvin Jones, Danny Amendola, and a rushing duo of Kerryon Johnson and rookie D'Andre Swift, Stafford should produce big numbers again if health is on his side this year. (Confidence in pick…4/5)


Offensive Player Of The Year: New York Giants' Running Back, Saquon Barkley


Giants Running Back Saquon Barkley Accepting His 2018 Rookie Of The Year Award

(Credit: The Morning Call)


After having an unbelievable rookie campaign, Saquon followed that up by having a “down” year according to others due to injuries. Despite being banged up and missing a few games, he still managed to get just over 1,000 rushing yards. Heading into his third season, Saquon should be fully healthy and work under new Head Coach Joe Judge. If health is on the entire Giants’ offensive unit, have QB Daniel Jones take a significant leap, and have the #4 overall pick, Tackle Andrew Thomas, help improve a weak front line, Saquon, and his god-given talents should explode and take the crown of the best Running Back in the NFL. (Confidence in pick…4/5)


Defensive Player Of The Year: San Francisco 49ers Inside Linebacker, Fred Warner


Let us give some love to Inside Linebackers again!


It was tough leaving out the likes of Outside Linebacker T.J. Watt or Free Safety Minkah Fitzpatrick here, as I think Pitt’s defense will wreak havoc again this season, but I will stick to my gut here and choose Fred Warner. Entering his third year, Warner has been phenomenal for the reigning NFC Champions so far, racking up almost every defensive stat imaginable in substantial proportions. Anchoring what should be another strong defensive unit for the 49ers, I will not be surprised if he does not win the award, but do not be shocked if you see him receive his first All-Pro and enter the elite category of Linebackers. (Confidence in pick…3/5)


MVP: Buffalo Bills QB, Josh Allen


Bills QB Josh Allen Leading His Team Out Of The Tunnel And Onto The Field (Credit: The Spun)


This should be Russell Wilson’s spot, as the man is somehow under-appreciated in this league. However, I do not want to be basic with this pick. I badly wanted to put Cleveland Browns QB Baker Mayfield here, as he has 0 excuses for not succeeding this year. However, I do not believe Cleveland is a playoff team. Hence why I am going bold and picking Josh Allen for the honor.


You look at the past several MVP’s, Lamar Jackson, Patrick Mahomes, Carson Wentz (I know, he did not win the award, but it was certainly his to lose before the late-season ACL tear), they were all not even close to being considered as an MVP candidate heading into their season where they would eventually win the award. Josh Allen is in a somewhat similar position; he has all the raw talent in the world and now has a certified top target in Wide Receiver Stefon Diggs. Do I think Diggs will play like a true #1? Probably not, but his impact/presence should be significant and is a clear upgrade over John Brown. Allen HAS to become more consistent; we are well aware of his noticeable troubles as an accurate passer, as he must improve while leading the Bills to the playoffs (which I think they will do). His performance in Training Camp, from what I have been hearing, has been 50/50. The pick here comes with tremendous risk, as Allen’s struggles could further continue with ease. However, if he can finally become more consistent and put all of his talents together, look out. He was a top 10 pick out of Wyoming for a reason, and he has improved as his time has passed so far. I will take a chance and say he puts it all together and catapults to becoming an MVP candidate.


(Confidence in pick…2/5)



AFC STANDINGS


EAST: Bills (2), Pats, Jets, Dolphins


Even without Brady, it still feels wrong not to put the Patriots as the division winner. While it would not come to a complete shock if the Patriots anger the greater NFL fanbase and have another quality season, I have to choose a new king of the division in Buffalo. Why would I pick Josh Allen as my MVP if I did not think the Bills would be a playoff team? Even if Allen does not play at an MVP level, the team full of young talent and an already-stout defense is expected to make another jump in 2020, and rightfully so. The Dolphins appear to have a positively intriguing rebuild occurring, but unless rookie QB Tua Tagovaiola can become a healthy starter and pop off in his rookie season under center, I do not expect the Dolphins to do much. The Jets had sleeper potential, but losing their best player only puts the troubled franchise in much worse shape.


NORTH: Ravens (3), Steelers (5), Browns, Bengals


I am not a huge Big Ben fan, but there is no doubt that his return (along with Wide Receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster) should make life much easier for the Steelers in 2020. I believe they will have the top defense this season, so I expect them to return to the playoffs in 2020. As much as I want to pick them to win the division, I cannot go against the Ravens. While I believe Baltimore will regress and not win as many games, they are still far too talented and well-coached to not produce another fantastic season. On paper, the Browns arguably have one of the most talented rosters in the league. Once again, QB Baker Mayfield has 0 excuses (other than potential injury) to not succeed this season. He would have likely been my MVP pick, only if I thought the Browns would make the playoffs. Do I believe they have a chance? Certainly, but I will not be choosing them to do so this year. The Bengals will hope #1 pick, QB Joe Burrow, shows promise to lead the team in the long-term, but do not expect anything from Cincinnati in a crowded division.


SOUTH: Colts (4), Texans (6), Titans, Jags


Texans QB Deshaun Watson Doing Whatever It Takes To Score A Touchdown V.S. The Buffalo Bills

(Credit: The Athletic)


Looking at the AFC South this year, nothing fascinates me, but the Colts come out as the lucky winner of my division champion pick. Most of what I have to say about the team can be seen above at my Frank Reich COTY pick, so I do not need to explain any further. Head Coach Bill O’Brien has given the Texans and their fan’s a nightmare in March by trading star Wide Receiver DeAndre Hopkins for peanuts for what he is truly worth. However, QB Deshaun Watson is a magician under center, and I believe he will carry his squad far enough to make a lucky Wild Card appearance. Speaking of luck and carrying a team, the Titans will be coming off Running Back Derrick Henry rushing his way towards him and his team appearing in the AFC Championship. The whole squad deserves credit, but no matter how Henry performs this season (hopefully well, I have him on my fantasy team), I do not see them pulling off the same magical season and falling back to earth a bit. I do not even need to make a statement about the Jaguars, my goodness.


WEST: Chiefs (1), Broncos (7), Raiders, Chargers


The only significant obstacle against the reigning Super Bowl Champions this offseason was potentially losing stout Defensive Lineman Chris Jones in free agency, and they somehow signed him to a long-term deal with what seems like their unlimited amount of cap space. The Chiefs are locked and loaded heading into 2020, as some could argue they appear in better shape than what they were last season. I am not sure exactly how Drew Lock will perform his second season with the Broncos*, but his surrounding talent and new Offensive Coordinator Pat Shurmur sparks plenty of promise and intrigue for the team’s offensive side of the ball. The defense lost longtime Cornerback Chris Harris Jr, which is a tough loss. But the additions of fellow Cornerback AJ Bouye, Defensive Lineman Jurrell Casey, and the return of Pass Rusher Bradley Chubb from injury, the Von Miller-lead defense is in good hands, and I believe they will do just enough to warrant a playoff appearance. The Raiders are in much better shape than what I thought they would be after the Khalil Mack trade. They have quite a bit of young talent on both sides of the ball. But the questionably shaky relationship of QB Derek Carr and Head Coach Jon Gruden, along with a not-so inspiring defense, does not make me believe this team will make enough noise in 2020 to warrant a playoff spot, all despite the cool move to Las Vegas. The Chargers have plenty of talent, but injuries and the loss of their longtime QB Phillip Rivers gives me no reason to believe they will do well this year.


*Note: These predictions were made before the Von Miller injury the other day. Sorry Broncos fans :(


NFC STANDINGS


EAST: Eagles (3), Cowboys, Giants, Washington...Football Team


My Super Bowl pick last season, the Eagles, were bombarded with injuries, yet hobbled their way to winning an easy division race. Losing Offensive Lineman Brandon Brooks and Andre Dillard before a single snap this year is a crushing blow, but if luck is on their side with injuries from now on, I have no doubt the quality franchise will earn themselves another division title. The Cowboys had the #1 offense last season and could very well repeat that this season, but not enough people discuss just how much the team lost on the opposite side of the ball. They lost their sack leader, Defensive End Robert Quinn, and more importantly, Cornerback Byron Jones. Although they were forced to pay financial attention towards their offense, their lack of defensive help will cost them. Giants QB Daniel Jones has plenty of breakout potential with a (hopefully) healthy set of weapons, but the defense is far too atrocious for me to believe they can be legitimately competitive. I believe the team has plenty of reasons to be hopeful in the long-term, but not this year just yet. The Washington…Football Team, went through hell these past few months, which had almost nothing to do with the players or coaches. Unfortunately, the on-field product is nothing to ease the pain of their fans; I feel awful for them.


NORTH: Vikings (4), Packers (7), Bears, Lions


Vikings Fans Behind Their Mascot, Practicing Their Famous "Skol" Chant Before A Home Game

(Credit: Turf Show Times)


Once again, I believe the division race here will be a tight one, as expected. However, I do not feel like any of these teams will make noise this year. To me, the Vikings still have the most amount of talent within the division and will finish first, so nothing much will change with them. The Packers had a breakout year with a new staff at the helm and made it to the NFC Championship, but it is safe to say they had a tough, controversial offseason. Aaron Rodgers’s time in Green Bay may be limited, but as long as he is there and playing well enough to pass by, I believe they are still a playoff team. I have my whole spiel about the Bears in here: https://nolanbul2.wixsite.com/mysite/post/walking-on-thin-ice-my-2020-chicago-bears-season-predictions . If there is any team that I believe has a shot to go from worst-to-first this upcoming year, I think it is the Lions. With a healthy Matt Stafford at helm, they are a team with underrated talent. The main problem is that Matt Patricia is still their Head Coach, as he has been underwhelming and often criticized in his first two years as coach. I believe he will once again limit a team that has better potential than shown within the past two seasons.


SOUTH: Saints (1), Buccaneers (6), Falcons, Panthers


It does not take a rocket scientist to realize the Saints are the NFC’s likely best team. Sure, teams like San Francisco last year popped up and finished at the top of the conference, but there should not be a more confident bet to finish with the best regular-season record other than New Orleans. QB Drew Brees may be entering his final season, and the team is all-in. Tom Brady and the Buccaneers marriage still seems unreal to me, but he is settled in Florida and arguably surrounded by his greatest group of weapons in his 20 year career. Since his arrival, I believed they would be in a similar situation as the Browns last year: having loaded talent, being labeled as premature Super Bowl contenders, and eventually flop. While I see that as a realistic scenario, the difference is the Bucs’ are led by respected Head Coach Bruce Arians, while a first year coach led the Browns last year. I will not label the Buccaneers as a legit contender, but with the NFL’s GOAT under center and a proven Head Coach leading the team, they could create chaos. For now, I will peg them as a Wild Card team. The Falcons annoy me; they have an abundance of talent but could not put it together after their 2017 Wild Card appearance. I believe not much will change, and Head Coach Dan Quinn will finally be shown the door in no time. The Panthers are undergoing a complete teardown (specifically on defense) and building from the ground up. Matt Rhule is an intriguing Head Coach candidate, QB Teddy Bridgewater will get another chance to become a full-time starter, and Running Back Christian McCaffery is not human. But the reality is they are in year one of a rebuild and should finish as one of the bottom teams in the league.


WEST: Seahawks (2), 49ers (5), Cardinals, Rams


Last but not least, we have arguably the toughest division race in the league here. Seattle gets the nod from me as the top team out of the four this year, and for good reasoning. The Russell Wilson-led offense should carry this team, and they bring on All-Pro Safety Jamal Adams to hopefully give the defense an additional push. It is tough not to put the 49ers at number one here, as they seem to have something young and beautiful in San Fran. However, like Baltimore, I believe the team will regress, but not too much. A Super Bowl hangover would not shock me at all, but the team is too talented and well-coached to fully sink. The offensive side of the ball has its worries, especially at Wide Receiver, but Tight End George Kittle is taking the league by storm and should greatly help QB Jimmy Garrapolo once again. The Cardinals look and seem quite exciting this season; it helps to add an All-Pro in Wide Receiver DeAndre Hopkins to help your reigning Rookie Of The Year QB in Kyler Murray. He is a popular MVP candidate this year, but as we know, the NFL proves that you need to be a winner to win the award. Someday, Kyler and the Cardinals could reach that point, but I do not think it will be this year. Finally, the Rams sold most of their future in an effort to win now, and I believe that effort will ultimately blow up in their face this year. Sean McVay is a fantastic coach, Aaron Donald is the best defensive player in the league, and they have a wide variety of talent on board. But I truly believe no matter what, they will plummet and finish last in their division this year.


AFC PLAYOFFS:


Bye: Chiefs (1)

Wild Card #1: Bills (2)/Broncos (7)

Wild Card #2: Ravens (3)/Texans (6)

Wild Card #3: Steelers (5)/ Colts (4)

Divisional #1: Chiefs (1)/ Steelers (5)

Divisional #2: Ravens (3)/ Bills (2)

Championship: Chiefs (1)/Ravens (3)

AFC CHAMPS: Chiefs (1)


Buffalo should further their excellence from last year, as shown by my MVP pick. But it all comes to a halt when Ravens QB Lamar Jackson earns himself his first playoff victory against them in the Divisional round. The Ravens deserve a spot in the Super Bowl, and the possibility of them reaching the big game is never out of the question. But the Chiefs dominance edges them and the rest of the AFC out here once again.


NFC PLAYOFFS:


Bye: Saints (1)

Wild Card #1: Seahawks (2)/ Packers (7)

Wild Card #2: Buccaneers (6)/ Eagles (3)

Wild Card #3: Vikings (4)/ 49ers (5)

Divisional #1: Saints (1)/Bucs (6)

Divisional #2: Seahawks (2)/ Vikings (4)

Championship: Seahawks (2)/Saints (1)

NFC CHAMPS: Seahawks (2)


Per usual, the NFC is always a more difficult conference to predict, but I will confidently pick the Seahawks to come out on top and take the crown of the NFC. It is quite painful not to pick Drew Brees and the Saints here, as I am rooting for my favorite QB ever to receive another ring in what will likely be his final season. But I will stick to my gut with Seattle, as New Orleans will undergo yet another painful playoff outcome. The biggest upset I have in my playoff predictions is Tom Brady and the Bucs’ strolling into Philly and defeating the Eagles.


SUPER BOWL 45: Chiefs/Seahawks

MVP: Patrick Mahomes (Here he actually deserves it)


Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes, Carrying What Could Be The First Of Many Lombardi Trophies

(Credit: The Wall Street Journal)


We are living in a Pat Mahomes world, people, you better have been bucked up already because the sky is truly the limit for the QB. I have been extremely confident in this potential matchup for months. I easily could have picked Seattle, but if you could not tell already, I am another typical person that drools over what the Chiefs are as a team. Financial-wise, their window to win might not be as big long-term, but their immense talent and unmatchable coaching could rope them in another title and become the first team to win consecutive Super Bowls since the ’03 and ’04 New England Patriots. The birth of a brand new NFL dynasty could be among us.


Finally, it is over; these are all of my predictions for the entire 2020 NFL season. Again, we have no clue how long the season will last due to the pandemic, but until league play is halted, football season is finally back, and it is time to be thankful and rejoice. No matter how long the season goes for, I cannot wait to look back and cringe at all the incorrect predictions I will make, but that makes this so much fun!


If you read through this whole article, pat yourself on the back because you are a gem. While you are at it, please feel free to let me know what you think and tap the heart icon at the bottom, if you wish.



Thank you and Bear Down!

69 views0 comments
bottom of page